The Quick Answer: Caring Village is the broader care-management toolkit — customizable care plans, expert-curated checklists, a wellness journal, external calendar sync, and in-app messaging — and it has a free plan. CircleCare is deliberately narrower and built around one problem: making each caregiver's contribution visible, so a family can see who is actually doing the work. Choose Caring Village if you want the widest feature set for managing a complex care situation; choose CircleCare if the hardest part of your situation is the family dynamic rather than the paperwork.
Last verified: August 2026. Everything we say about Caring Village below was checked against Caring Village's own website and its App Store and Google Play listings. Competitor features and pricing change — often without announcement — so confirm current details on their site before you decide.
Caring Village and CircleCare are both built for family caregivers, and they overlap more than they differ. Both put a care team in a private shared space. Both handle medications, appointments, tasks, and documents. Both run on iPhone and Android.
The honest way to choose between them is to figure out which problem you are actually trying to solve — because the two apps are optimized for different ones.
What Caring Village Is
Caring Village describes itself as an app for family and professional caregivers, aimed at "family caregivers supporting aging parents," "spouses and partners managing chronic conditions," "families coordinating care across multiple households," and "anyone who wants to get organized and share the caregiving load."
Its published feature set is genuinely broad. From Caring Village's own product page and store listings, it includes:
- Julia, an AI caregiving assistant
- Medication management with reminders and adherence tracking
- A shared care calendar, with external calendar integration on paid plans
- A printable care calendar
- To-do lists, where members can volunteer for tasks
- Expert-curated checklists
- Customizable care plans with reminders
- A wellness journal for mood and symptom tracking, with photo sharing
- Secure document storage with customizable folders on paid plans
- Messaging between members of a village
Caring Village's App Store description states that over 80,000 families use it. Its homepage cites 75,000+ family members. Both are the company's own figures, from different pages.
Caring Village pricing (verified August 2026)
Caring Village publishes a free plan and two paid tiers:
- Free — one village, up to 2 members, ad-supported. Includes basic to-do lists, a shared calendar, and messaging.
- Circle — $14.99/month, up to 2 villages with 5 members each.
- Village — $24.99/month, up to 5 villages with a higher member cap.
Caring Village's App Store listing also shows annual in-app purchase prices of $149.99/year for Circle and $249.99/year for Village. Their site references an annual discount; we could not confirm the exact annual figures from the pricing page itself, so treat the App Store numbers as the ones we verified.
Paid plans remove ads and add external calendar integration, the printable care calendar, customizable care plans, enhanced sharing, customizable document folders, and wellness journal export.
Where Caring Village Is Genuinely Better Than CircleCare
We would rather you pick the right app than pick ours. Several things Caring Village offers, CircleCare does not:
Care plans and expert checklists. Caring Village lets you build customizable care plans and gives you curated checklists for common caregiving situations. CircleCare has no care-plan builder and ships no checklists inside the app. If you want structured guidance on what to do, not just a place to record it, that is a real advantage.
Two-way calendar sync. Caring Village advertises external calendar integration on paid plans. CircleCare can import from your device calendar, but it does not push CircleCare events back out to Google or Apple Calendar. If you live inside your work calendar and need care events to appear there, Caring Village handles that today and CircleCare does not.
A wellness journal with export. Caring Village has a dedicated wellness journal for mood and symptom tracking, with photo sharing and an export option on paid plans. CircleCare has care notes, but nothing structured in the same way.
In-app messaging. Caring Village includes messaging between village members. CircleCare has an activity feed and notes, but no dedicated message thread. If your family wants conversation inside the same app, that is a gap on our side.
A printable care calendar. Useful if someone in the circle — a hired aide, a parent who doesn't use apps — needs a paper copy on the fridge. CircleCare has no equivalent.
A free plan with messaging. Caring Village's free tier includes messaging, a shared calendar, and basic to-dos. It is ad-supported and capped at one village and two members, but it exists.
What CircleCare Is
CircleCare is a care coordination app for families sharing the work of caring for someone. The core idea is per-person attribution: every medication confirmation, completed appointment, and finished task is recorded against the person who did it, and the whole circle can see it.
That sounds like a small design decision. In practice it is the whole product. Most family caregiving conflict is not about a missing medication list — it is about one sibling quietly doing eighty percent of the work while everyone else assumes it is covered. When contribution is visible, that stops being an argument about feelings and becomes a shared, factual picture that a family can actually act on.
CircleCare includes:
- Care circles with roles — owner, members, care recipient
- An activity feed showing who did what, in real time
- A shared calendar for appointments, medications, and tasks, with day and week views, filtering by person or type, recurring events, and one-way import from your device calendar
- Medication tracking with confirmations, on-time vs. late history, adherence statistics over 7 to 90 days, and a PDF adherence report you can hand a doctor
- Prescription label scanning to pull medication name, dosage, and directions from the bottle
- Task assignment with clear ownership
- Emergency info — doctors, insurance, allergies, conditions, advance directives
- Document storage for the circle
- An AI assistant for questions about the circle's schedule and medications, designed so your stored health records are never sent to an outside AI provider
- Full English and Spanish, throughout the app
- Timezone-aware scheduling, so a caregiver in California, a sibling in New York, and a parent in Florida all see correct times
- iOS, Android, and a web companion at my.circlecare.app
CircleCare pricing (verified August 2026)
- $6.99/month or $59.99/year, with a 1-week free trial
- Up to 5 care circles and unlimited family members
- Only the circle creator needs a subscription. Every person you invite — siblings, friends, neighbors, a hired aide — uses CircleCare free
- A limited free plan exists: one circle and two caregivers
That last point is the one most families miss when comparing prices. A CircleCare circle with nine relatives in it costs one subscription, not nine.
Side by Side
| CircleCare | Caring Village | |
|---|---|---|
| Free plan | 1 circle, 2 caregivers | 1 village, 2 members, ad-supported |
| Paid price | $6.99/mo or $59.99/yr | $14.99/mo (Circle) or $24.99/mo (Village); $149.99/yr and $249.99/yr on the App Store listing |
| Who pays | Only the circle creator; invited members are free | Plan holder; tiers cap members per village |
| Members on a paid plan | Unlimited | 5 per village (Circle) or a higher cap (Village) |
| Shows who completed each task or dose | Yes, on every action | Not stated in their public materials |
| Medication tracking and adherence | Yes, with PDF report | Yes, with adherence tracking |
| Shared calendar | Yes | Yes |
| Sync care events out to Google/Apple Calendar | No — import only | Yes, on paid plans |
| Printable calendar | No | Yes, on paid plans |
| Care plans and expert checklists | No | Yes |
| Wellness / mood journal | Care notes only | Yes, with export on paid plans |
| In-app messaging | No | Yes |
| Document storage | Yes | Yes; customizable folders on paid plans |
| AI assistant | Yes | Yes (Julia) |
| Platforms | iOS, Android, web | iOS, Android |
| Spanish | Full app, English and Spanish | Not stated in their public materials |
We could not verify from Caring Village's public materials whether the app records which specific person completed a task or gave a dose, or whether it offers a Spanish interface. We have marked both as unverified rather than guessing in either direction.
Who Should Choose Caring Village
- You want the broadest feature set in one app and are willing to pay more for it
- You need structured care plans or expert checklists to tell you what to do next
- You need care events to appear in Google or Apple Calendar automatically
- You want mood and symptom journaling as a first-class feature
- You want messaging inside the care app rather than in a separate thread
- Someone in your circle needs a printed calendar
- You want to try a free plan that includes messaging, and you can live with ads and a two-member cap
Who Should Choose CircleCare
- More than two or three people share the care, and you need to see how the work is actually distributed
- Siblings disagree — openly or quietly — about who is doing more
- You want one subscription to cover the whole family instead of paying per seat or hitting a member cap
- Your circle spans time zones and you're tired of "wait, is that her 9am or mine?"
- Someone in the family is more comfortable in Spanish
- A relative wants to check in from a laptop instead of installing an app
- You want an adherence report you can hand a doctor at the next visit
When You Should Not Choose CircleCare
We would rather say this plainly than have you find it out after a week:
Don't choose CircleCare if calendar sync is non-negotiable. We import from your device calendar, but we do not push care events back out to Google or Apple Calendar. If your whole life runs on one calendar and it has to include care events, this will frustrate you.
Don't choose CircleCare if you want the app to tell you what to do. We give you a place to coordinate. We do not ship care plans, condition-specific protocols, or expert checklists. Caring Village does.
Don't choose CircleCare if you need conversation in the app. Our activity feed tells you what happened. It is not a chat.
Don't choose CircleCare if you're the only caregiver. Attribution is worthless when there is only one person to attribute anything to. If nobody else is helping, a medication reminder app or a simple notes app will serve you better, and it will be free. Start with getting other people involved before you start with software.
Don't choose CircleCare if your family will not adopt it. No coordination app survives a family that won't open it. If you have not yet had the conversation about sharing the load, have that first.
How to Actually Decide
Ask what breaks down in your family.
If what breaks down is information — nobody knows the medication list, nobody knows what the cardiologist said, nobody has a plan — the broader toolkit wins. Caring Village is built to hold more kinds of information.
If what breaks down is people — one person is carrying it, nobody else can see how much, and it is turning into resentment — the attribution model wins. That is what CircleCare was built for, and it is why we do not try to be the widest app on the market.
Both apps let you try before committing: Caring Village has a free plan, and CircleCare has a 1-week free trial and a limited free plan. Set up a circle in each with the two or three people who help most and see which one the family actually opens.
Related Reading
- The Best Apps for Coordinating Care for Aging Parents — a wider survey including CaringBridge and Lotsa Helping Hands
- How to Divide Parent Care Responsibilities With Siblings
- CircleCare vs. Using a Shared Calendar
Sources: caringvillage.com (product, pricing, and FAQ pages), the Caring Village App Store listing, and the Caring Village Google Play listing, all checked in August 2026. CircleCare details reflect the app as shipped in August 2026. If you find something out of date here, tell us at support@circlecare.app and we will correct it.